DMC Sinai-Grace Hospital Staff

Our Staff


Malitha Hettiarachchi, MD, Site Director

A board-certified internist, Dr. Hettiarachchi completed her medical education at University of Colombo Sri Lanka and a residency at WSU/DMC Sinai-Grace Hospital, where she served as a chief medical resident. She serves as a clinical assistant professor both at WSU School of Medicine and MSU College of Osteopathic Medicine. Dr. Hettiarachchi is also an active clinical researcher and has presented her research in many national-level medical conferences. Her clinical interest areas are cardiovascular disease, kidney disease, diabetes, preventative care, quality improvement and medical education.


Geetha Krishnamoorthy, MD, Associate Program Director

Dr. Geetha Krishnamoorthy is a board-certified internist and currently is the associate program director for the Sinai-Grace Internal Medicine Residency Program. An active educator, Dr. Krishnamoorthy serves as a physical diagnosis coordinator and instructor and conducts general medicine teaching rounds at Sinai-Grace. She also teaches the intensive internal medicine board review course sponsored by AIMS for internal medicine residents and practicing physicians.


Lawrence S. Lackey, Jr., MD, FACP

Dr. Lawrence Lackey, Jr., is board-certified internist. A graduate of WSU School of Medicine, Dr. Lackey holds positions on many committees at DMC, including chairman of the ethics committee. An educator, Dr. Lackey is an assistant professor and clinical educator at WSU, conducting general medicine teaching rounds and teaching courses on internal medicine and physical diagnosis.


Sandra A. Jones-Lackey, MD

Dr. Sandra Jones-Lackey is a graduate of WSU School of Medicine and currently serves as the associate director of the Sinai-Grace Ambulatory Internal Medicine Clinic. An instructor at WSU, Dr. Jones-Lackey supervises residents at the Clinic in addition to teaching courses in physical diagnosis and ambulatory medicine.


Robert Walker, MD

Robert Walker, MD, is a graduate of WSU School of Medicine and completed his Internal Medicine Residency at the WSU Affiliated Program/DMC Hutzel Hospital. After years in private practice, he joined the faculty at Sinai-Grace Hospital Department of Internal Medicine in 1990. He has clinical faculty appointments at both WSU School of Medicine as Clinical Instructor and at MSU College of Human Medicine as Clinical Assistant Professor. With more than 30 years of experience in both ambulatory care and inpatient medicine, he is currently active teaching medical students and residents at two ambulatory care sites.


Marc Feldman, MD, FACP
Senior Vice President

Dr. Marc Feldman is a board-certified internist with a specialty in geriatric medicine. A graduate of WSU School of Medicine, he has served as associate program director for the Internal Medicine Training Program at Sinai-Grace since 1994. Dr. Feldman has taught at WSU for more than 20 years and is clinical assistant professor of medicine at MSU School of Medicine. He continues to be the coordinator for medical grand rounds at Sinai-Grace.


Syed Ahmed Hussain, MD

Dr. Syed Ahmed Hussain, MD completed his Internal Medicine residency training at DMC/Sinai Grace Hospital in June 2013 and became Chief Medical Resident from July 2013-June 2014. He was the first DMC Quality, Patient Safety, and GME Leadership Fellow (2014) along with being Executive Director for Resident Engagement in Quality, VP of the DMC Resident Council, and Interim CMO for Quality and Patient Safety at SGH. He is currently Associate Chief Medical Officer for the Detroit Medical Center.

His major accomplishments include the development of an EMR sign-out process that promotes safe and standardized hand offs. Further, he engaged 800 residents and fellows in a novel program linking core measures to a real-time interactive electronic checklist (the "Widget") that led to sustained, system-wide performance improvement. He was instrumental in forming the first DMC Resident Quality and Safety Council. Dr. Hussain's work has been presented at annual meetings of the ACGME, American College of Physicians, Association for Program Directors in Internal Medicine, and Cerner Physician Summit. In addition to winning awards in oral and poster presentation at national conferences, Dr. Hussain was also Resident of the Year (2012 - 2013).

Lalitha Koneru, MD